God told me to buy a funnel cake

funnel cake

Have you ever left work or home and then had the feeling you had left something important undone? That uneasy feeling followed Kate McCallister onto a Paris-bound airplane in the holiday classic Home Alone. The busy mother of five hadn’t left a task undone; she’d forgotten her youngest child, Kevin, who had been banished to the third floor of the house the previous evening, as punishment for misbehaving.

By the way, the whole story line of that movie, released in 1990, would have been impossible to swallow if mobile phones had been as commonplace as they are now. Text Mom, “Where are you guys?” Kate cries, “Peter!! We forgot Kevin!” Send a cab; change an airline reservation; meet up in Paris; apologize; hug; say “Merry Christmas.” End of story.

Back up even further and rewrite, having Kate make a little reminder in her mobile device: “Remember Kevin.” Reminders on our personal devices and our desktop computers are wonderful things. Dash off a few keystrokes (or give Siri a voice command) when a future task or appointment is on your mind, create an alert with a reasonable lead time, and you’re all set. All set, that is, if you pay proper attention to your reminders once they’re out there. But we have all been there, right? Snooze. Snooze. Snooze. Snooze. Dismiss.

I’m pretty good at setting helpful reminders so I don’t forget recurring tasks at work. I can print my daily tasks from Outlook and physically check them off with a pen; and that’s largely the secret to my success at covering minute details. So much so that I must confess to feeling judgmental when I hear people say more than once, “Oh, no! I forgot to do such and such!” I’m thinking, “Hello!? Make a better reminder!” So, when I left work on Friday afternoon last, the nagging feeling that followed me to my car turned into a needed…(ahem)… reminder about “casting the first stone.”

The next afternoon, at the Auburn-Georgia football game in Jordan-Hare Stadium, my daughter and I found the field activity unfixating enough for us to trek down to the concession stand for a snack. Our intended quarry was popcorn or nachos, or both, and Dr. Pepper. (Yeah! Carbs, salt, fat, sugar, and caffeine. Just what stadium food ought to be for the health-conscious sports fan.) However, while we were descending 21 rows of concrete steps from the upper deck to concourse level, I had seen a child holding a plate of funnel cake. (Yeah! Carbs, fat, and sugar. Just what stadium food ought to be for the health-conscious sports fan.) And, as it just so happened that the tail end of the long line for the main concession windows placed us right in front of a separate vendor making funnel cakes, Dawn and I began a discussion of the pros and cons.

There was no line at all for funnel cake. The beverage choice there was not a choice. It was bottled water, a healthier option than what we had been thinking. One funnel cake and two bottles of water would cost less than the other stuff at the other place. Funnel cake smelled really good, and we could see that the cakes were being made to order, not pulled out of a warmer. We hadn’t had a funnel cake in a long time.

Virtually all of the “pros” were landing on the funnel cake’s side of the page. We made our move. On the counter space of the small booth rested a large, rectangular, metal pan holding the powdered sugar to be sifted over the top of each deep-fried delight. Dawn and I were thinking, “Please sift generously!” – a sentiment we reconsidered shortly thereafter, when the wind began blowing the white stuff off the cake and onto our navy blue attire! You just never know what excitement a Game Day has in store for you.

As my gaze rested on that pan of powdered sugar, a light clicked on in my brain. Try to understand the absolute similarity of what I was seeing to the subject of an undone Friday work task I suddenly remembered – items I was to have procured for a teacher of children’s Sunday school to use in an object lesson on Sunday morning. The Bible story was about Daniel and the hand that wrote on the wall before King Belshazzar and the teacher planned to use some large, rectangular, metal pans from the church kitchen, each holding white flour. The children would be invited to write on the surface of the flour with their fingers. Oh, yes; the task of placing those pans in a certain classroom was on my printed list. I just failed to go over my list one last time before leaving work.

The title of today’s post is crystal clear now. Don’t even try to persuade me that my Lord didn’t lead me to that very spot to see that very sight, so I would have the opportunity to remember and to contact someone* in Birmingham who could secure the requested pans, covering the assignment I’d let slip through the cracks on a Friday afternoon whose special events had thrown me off my usual routine.

Some may say “coincidence.” I say, “Thank you, precious Friend. I love you!”

 

P.S. The funnel cake was yummy! Grace upon grace.

*Thank you, Mindy Bodenhamer!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “God told me to buy a funnel cake

  1. Hi Betsy, loved your cake story! Yes, it was also a very busy afternoon for me after the Veterans luncheon. In fact, I tried to dismiss a nagging thought that kept going round and round in my mind. The thought was, “I NEED to call Kathy”…. Being tired and lazy, I decided to call Kathy Sat morn. Now let me digress with a little background, and tell you I have three 2nd cousins who are as close to me as their deceased parents, (my 1st cousins) were. My 1st cousins had lived in an apt in my home when a teenager and, in fact, brought their firstborn son, Steve to our house from hospital. When their 2nd child (Kathy) was born,they moved to a house 3 doors down the street and even later, to another house just 2 blocks from us. All of that is to say that togetherness is an understatement in our very close relationship. Sat morn I received a phone call from my son Roger in New York with this message, “I have bad news about a family member. Steve was had a tragic accident which lead to his death this morn at 2 am. My trembling voice responded, “Kathy was on my mind all day yestersday, and Iwas going to call her today”. The depth of my sorry upon learning of Steve’s tragic death, and the tremendous guilt I experienced; I failed to respond to God’s voice when He spoke to me and I was denied of being able to see Steve in his final hours. Date: Wed, 18 Nov 2015 12:05:16 +0000 To: sdaviston@hotmail.com

    Like

    1. Shirley, my sincere condolences on this sad event in your family. I know Kathy will appreciate your love and outreach even though it didn’t happen when you now think it “should” have. I haven’t often had those moments of uncanny urgency to pray for a specific person and found out later that a crisis was going on. It happened to an aunt of my dad’s once that I know about, and probably more times than that – an aunt who was very close to the Lord. She phoned my dad based on a strong sense that she needed to, and he managed to answer and let her know he needed help, having just fallen off a ladder in the house, injuring his back. The very fact that your cousin came to mind in such a strong way on that day says a lot. Many thanks for reading and sharing. We serve a great God, indeed.

      Like

Leave a Reply

